null
Organization
of local sectors

Sens Benin

Fondation Avril helps Sens in Benin in order to support the structuring of leguminous sectors for small farms and rural very small enterprises (VSEs). This original operation relies on two main actions: creation of sustainable jobs to boost rural areas, and support to all actors, from production to collective distribution right up to the cities.

Sens has created an original structure, « Essor » (« Entreprises Solidaires de Services aux Ruraux ») in 2016. With the support of Fondation Avril, Sens helped 12 Essor entrepreneurs in the soybean sector. These VSEs provide local services to farmers, and access to local urban markets for producers. Meanwhile, rural tofu farms and urban processing units can respectively enjoy adequate supply and quality local supply.

To change scale, Sens, with the support of Fondation Avril, launched the « Best 2018-2021 » program, to pursue the development of innovative projects and strengthen the soybean sector. It led to the creation of Monsoja, a committed brand that allows people to consume more protein through a range of local products.

“Innovating in Benin with soybeans is establishing the right conditions for a more productive, more profitable, more sustainable agriculture. It is stimulating the development of hundreds of micro and small processing companies, and improving protein intake for the vulnerable! ”

Kèmi Fakambi,
General Director of Sens-Bénin

OUR PARTNER

Sens (Solidarités Entreprises Nord-Sud) is a group of three cooperatives (Sens France, Sens Bénin, Investi’Sens Bénin) which develop together a social and sustainable economy, strongly rooted in the territories of the North and the South.

OTHER PROJECTS:

AFDI Mali

Fondation Avril has been supporting AFDI since 2019 in a project to test digital agricultural services (management solutions, training, weather informations, price trends, stocks, experts advices, etc.) with 500 Malian cooperatives.

Moringa Fund

With the Moringa Fund, Fondation Avril takes part in an experimental program aimed at developing virtuous models around oil palm, cultivated in agroforestry by independent farmers.

SEED Project

Since 2017, Fondation Avril has been supporting the Seed Project, which sources and identifies new technologies adapted to agricultural transformation, especially for African family farmers.

Cuma-Bénin Aquitaine

In 2017, Fondation Avril made a commitment to the Cuma-Bénin-Aquitaine Association and the National Union of Cuma in Benin (UNCuma) to develop a mechanized soybean sector, from north to south Benin.

null
Organisation
de filières

Sens Bénin

Changer d’échelle pour accompagner plus de producteurs et de transformatrices de soja

La Fondation Avril a souhaité accompagner Sens au Bénin afin de soutenir la structuration de filières légumineuses à partir d’exploitations agricoles de petite taille et de TPE rurales. Cette organisation originale permet à la fois de dynamiser les territoires ruraux par la création d’emplois pérennes et d’accompagner les acteurs, de la production à la distribution collective jusque dans les villes.
Sens a imaginé une structure originale baptisée Essor, « Entreprises Solidaires de Services aux Ruraux». En 2016, avec le soutien de la Fondation Avril, Sens a pu accompagner 12 entrepreneurs Essor sur la filière soja notamment. Ces toutes petites entreprises (TPE) implantées dans le monde rural fournissent des services de proximité aux agriculteurs, assurent aux producteurs l’accès aux marchés urbains tout en offrant aux femmes rurales productrices de tofu un approvisionnement adapté et aux unités de transformation situées en ville l’assurance d’un approvisionnement local de qualité.

Pour changer d’échelle, Sens avec le soutien de la Fondation Avril, a lancé le programme « B’est 2018-2021 » (Bénin Entreprendre Solidaire avec son Territoire) pour continuer de déployer des initiatives innovantes et renforcer la filière soja ; avec par exemple la création de la marque Monsoja. MonSoja est une marque collective et engagée qui permet aux populations de consommer davantage de protéines grâce à une gamme de produits locaux accessible à tous.

« Innover au Bénin avec le soja, c’est créer les conditions pour une agriculture plus productive, plus rentable, plus durable, c’est susciter l’essor de centaines de micros et petites entreprises de transformation, et c’est améliorer l’apport en protéines pour les vulnérables ! »

Kèmi Fakambi,
Directrice Générale de Sens-Bénin

NOTRE PARTENAIRE

Le Groupe Sens (Solidarités Entreprises Nord-Sud) est un groupe de trois sociétés coopératives (Sens France, Sens Bénin, Investi’Sens Bénin) qui, ensemble, développent une économie sociale et solidaire fortement ancrée sur des territoires du Nord et du Sud.

AUTRES PROJETS :

AFDI Mali

Association de solidarité internationale, AFDI construit des partenariats entre les mondes agricoles français et ceux des pays en développement.

Fonds Moringa

Avec le Fonds Moringa, la Fondation Avril participe à un programme expérimental visant à faire émerger un modèle vertueux autour du palmier à huile cultivé en agroforesterie par des fermiers indépendants.

SEED Project

Seed Project s’intéresse aux innovations les plus prometteuses pour l’agriculture de demain.

Cuma-Bénin Aquitaine

En 2017, la Fondation Avril s’est engagée auprès de l’Association Cuma-Bénin-Aquitaine et l’Union nationale des Cuma du Bénin